top of page
Search

FAQ

Updated: Jan 10


Where are you located? The beauty of Express Eyewear is that we provide mobile optical services. This means we come to YOU! I service Tyler, TX and the surrounding area. This service can be done at any suitable location of your choice. Many patients have me come to their home or office. But I can also come to nursing homes, assisted living centers, hospitals, you name it!


How does this work? I've never heard of a mobile optician.

When it comes to booking an appointment with me at Express Eyewear, all you need is your eyeglass prescription. If you don't have one or if it needs to be renewed, there's no need to worry. I offer a convenient solution through my telemedicine platform, which connects you with my partner optometrist for vision testing. I will bring a wide selection of frames for you to explore, ensuring a perfect fit that matches your style and preferences.


How long do my glasses take? How can I get them?

Once you've made your selection, sit back, relax, and let me take care of the rest. Your eyeglasses will be promptly delivered to your doorstep, hassle-free! I use some of the best surfacing labs in the country, so I can offer a turnaround time anywhere from 1-2 weeks. In some cases, it can be quicker. I personally cut all the lenses myself with my state of the art equipment! This ensures a fast turnaround time and allows me to have complete control over the quality of your precious eyewear.


Do you take my vision insurance?

I am in network with United Healthcare Vision, otherwise known as Spectera. I am also in network with Superior Vision, which also may be called Versant Health. You're welcome to use these plans for material purchases like eyeglasses or contact lenses. If you have another vision plan - don't worry! I'm here to submit out-of-network claims on your behalf for reimbursement. Simply confirm your out-of-network benefits and provide me with your insurance details. While the process may differ from visiting a in-network provider, my independence from certain vision insurance companies allows me to prioritize high-quality lenses and ensure a fast turnaround time for your eyeglasses. I prefer to work with vision insurance companies that give me the flexibility to choose the lab and lens brand that suits your unique needs best. Unfortunately, some insurance companies mandate providers to use specific products and labs, often for their own profit. I believe that eyecare decisions should be made by eyecare professionals, not dictated by insurance companies. Please note that if you have Superior or Spectera vision plan, I can only accept your vision insurance for material purchases like eyeglasses or contact lenses. The prescriber for this service, my partner optometrist, is not in network with any vision plans and prefers not to be. For eyeglass and contact lens prescription renewals, it is charged as private pay. I can STILL file this service for reimbursement with your plan.

How much do glasses cost?

The cost of eyeglasses varies depending on factors such as your prescription strength, the frame you select, and the type of lenses you choose. At Express Eyewear, we offer a range of options to fit different budgets, from the latest lens technology to more basic and budget-friendly choices. A "ballpark" estimate for a complete pair of single vision lenses with frames and anti-glare coating is $290, while progressives would be $450. During the eyewear fitting, I'll do my best to find an option that meets your budget. As an optician, my focus is on providing the best vision possible rather than simply making sales. If affordability is a concern, please don't hesitate to reach out to me. I'm here to assist and ensure clear vision is accessible to everyone.


Do you do comprehensive eye exams?

At Express Eyewear, I specialize in accurate vision testing using the most advanced technology available. However, I am not an optometrists and cannot diagnose or treat medical conditions of the eye. My service focuses on providing precise vision prescriptions, all test results are verified by our partner optometrist, Dr. Clayton Boyd, for accuracy and authentication.

For any medical concerns or if it has been over 2 years since your last eye doctor visit, I recommend scheduling a comprehensive eye examination with a qualified optometrist, if you need an optometrist, let me know where you live and I can help direct you to the best optometrists in the area. They can address medical issues and ensure your overall eye health. If you have a valid prescription from another eye doctor, I can fill it.


Do you accept Medicare?

Great question! Let's clarify how Medicare interacts with the services we offer. When you see an eye doctor in person at an office, they typically perform two types of exams - medical and vision. Medicare covers the medical component, but does not cover the vision part. Our primary focus is on vision correction (refraction) and providing eyeglasses. Unfortunately, standard Medicare doesn't cover these services because they are not considered medical. This is why you have a “co pay” of $65+ when you go to the eye doctor. They call it a co pay to simplify things - but it’s really just the portion that the Medicare will not cover. So, if you're planning on getting a vision test, eyeglasses, or both, it's important to know these will be out-of-pocket expenses anywhere you go. Medicare Advantage Plans: Some patients have Medicare Advantage plans, which might have separate vision benefits. These plans often collaborate with providers like Spectera, Eyemed, VSP, Superior, or Davis vision. Sometimes offer an HSA card to help offset vision-related costs. If you're part of such a plan, it's worth checking directly with them for specifics. We understand that insurance details can be a tad overwhelming. If ever in doubt or if you have more questions, don't hesitate to reach out. We're here to help you navigate this and ensure you get the best care possible!


99 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page